From Teammates to Family

Everyone who goes off to college is told they will create a home away from home at school.  The people they meet will become their family.  They’ll start a whole new life.

In high school I never thought about the importance of the people that I’d meet once I got to K-State.  I knew I’d be spending a lot of time with my teammates and they’d be my closest friends.  But I never realized the significance of the idea that they’d literally become my family.

When you’re on a Division I golf team, you see your teammates every day.  You spend hours at the golf course together, rain or shine, hot or cold.  Snow or ice.

Image

You challenge each other. You workout, and push each other to get stronger.

Image

You are forced to spend 10 hours straight driving from Dallas to Manhattan squeezed in the back of a car.

Image

You get the chance to travel to places you’ve always dreamed of visiting.

IMG_3281

And with all the time you spend focused and serious, there are also plenty of laughs.  Plenty of them.

Image

But at the end of the day, you realize you truly are a family.  A group of people that have different backgrounds but are coming together with a common goal.  Everything’s not perfect 100% of the time, but you make it work, just like a family.

At the end of the day, I couldn’t be happier to have these group of girls in my life.

Image

A very wise family friend once told me that college golf would be the best four years of my life: “it’s the best vacation you’ll ever have,” he said, playing golf, traveling all expenses paid, and most importantly, being with your very best friends.

Leave a Reply

