“Life begins at the end of our comfort zone.”

Sometimes the opportunities that arise for us can seem like bigger tasks than we are comfortable with.  Whether it be a new job, position within an organization or event we are asked to be a part of–there is sometimes that moment of hesitation of whether we want to accept the responsibility that comes with the opportunity.  But the thing to remember, is with the opportunity, is a chance to have a boatload of new experiences.

Tomorrow, I will walk on to a stage in front of the entire student athlete population, and present Show Stopping Moment of the Year.  When I accepted the position in the Student Athlete Advisory Committee, the first thing that came to my mind wasn’t the fact I would have to do any public speaking.  I was merely excited to be a leader on my team.  Now, I don’t have a fear of public speaking, but there is not doubt I’ll be a little nervous walking on to the stage tomorrow night.  But that, is where I think life begins, is right there at the end of my comfort zone.  Trying new experiences, and in return getting the opportunity to be a part of events and meet new groups of people.  After all,

“You only regret the chances you didn’t take.”

And with every event I help plan, volunteer opportunity that I’m a part of, photo shoot I’m able to be in, and athlete that I meet, I always remember,

magic is really hidden in the simple things.

 

Image

 

Leave a Reply

