Technology taking away the simple things?

I’ll start off with a disclaimer: I love technology.  Staying in touch with my parents and friends who are hundreds of miles away wouldn’t be possible without it.  I have several types of social media, all on my smartphone.  As a public relations major, I see social media as a great communication method.  I love being able to take photos everywhere I go.  I love being able to go for a run, while listening to music and tracking my pace.

But lately, I’ve been noticing how much technology is controlling our lives.  People bury their heads in their phones, without the slightest notice of the world going on around them.   Walking to class and waiting for class to start, consists of scrolling through Twitter and Instagram.  When people don’t have something to instantly entertain them, their first instinct is to reach for their phone.

I’m worried people will begin losing touch with some of the greatest things in life such as the company of others, people watching and the natural world around them.

One of my favorite songs right now is Automatic by Miranda Lambert.  A verse goes, “If you had something to say, you’d write it on a piece of paper, then you’d put a stamp on it, and they’d get it three days later.”  Now while I’m glad I can text, call and video chat my family and friends, I’m afraid some of the greatest things in life will be lost–such as a simple hand written letter.  

The chorus sings, “Hey, whatever happened to waiting your turn, doing it all by hand, cuz when everything is handed to you, it’s only worth as much as the time put in, it all just seemed so good the way we had it, back before everything became automatic.”

It is so much easier to appreciate the small things when our heads aren’t buried in our phones.  To enjoy the company of others, instead of relying on a phone for entertainment.  To take a moment to notice all the details going on around us.

After all, magic is hidden in the simple things.

Leave a Reply

