“You don’t know what you have til it’s gone”

The saying goes,

“you don’t know what you have til it’s gone.”

I’ve always believed in counting your blessings and recognizing the many good things in our lives, even when it seems like everything is going wrong. I’ve always associated this quote with people that don’t take that perspective and fail to appreciate the simple things around them.

Recently though, I realized that although I may be thankful for my health, I may not appreciate it to the extent that I should. I’m an athlete; it’s basically my life right now. Between practice and workouts, my sport fills a good portion of my day. This expression hit me full on though when for a few days I was experiencing some back pain. I knew it wasn’t critical, but the feeling of not being able to spend my days like I normally do, created the belief in me that once I was pain free, I wouldn’t take a second of it for granted.

And surprisingly, it wasn’t just the fact that I couldn’t play my sport. I realized how much I enjoyed working out, regardless of whether it was to improve my golf game. I also realized how even simple actions like going for a walk outside on a nice night or spending a day with my friends, was impeded by not being completely healthy.

These simple actions I realized I could never take for granted. I also came to appreciate hobbies in my life that I never realized were truly passions, such as running and working out.

After all, magic is hidden in the simple things, and we can’t take anything for granted.

Leave a Reply

